32.8 C
New York
Thursday, June 20, 2024

Polling Begins In 57 Seats

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 7 Voting Live Updates: Polling Begins In 57 Seats

Elections 2024 Phase 7 Voting: Polling began at 7am and will end at 6pm.

Polling for the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha elections has begun today. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is among the prominent leaders contesting in this phase. 

Voting has begun across 57 constituencies spanning seven states and the Union Territory of Chandigarh to decide the fates of 904 candidates in the fray. The campaigning for the polls concluded on Thursday with top leaders holding massive rallies across the country.

Thirteen seats in both Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine in West Bengal, eight in Bihar, six in Odisha, four in Himachal Pradesh, three in Jharkhand and the lone Lok Sabha seat in Chandigarh go to polls today.

Apart from PM Modi, who is contesting from Varanasi, other top BJP candidates include Union Minister Anurag Thakur from Himachal Pradesh’s Hamirpur, Ravi Shankar Prasad from Bihar’s Patna Sahib and actor Kangana Ranaut from Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi.

Congress’ Manish Tewari is contesting from Chandigarh while Vikramaditya Singh is in the fray from Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi and Ajay Rai from Varanasi. Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and Trinamool Congress MP Abhishek Banerjee is contesting from Diamond Harbour.

Here are the latest updates on Phase 7 of Lok Sabha Elections:

Get NDTV UpdatesTurn on notifications to receive alerts as this story develops.

Elections 2024: Key Numbers In Phase 7
Yogi Adityanath’s “Final Meeting” Swipe At Opposition INDIA Alliance

“INDIA alliance will hold its final meeting today. After the election, everyone will blame each other, they will make fun of each other. EVM accusers will make new accusations. Those who patronize the mafia should not be talking about this,” he said.

“Let’s Make Our Democracy More Vibrant”: PM Modi To Voters

“Today is the final phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. As 57 seats across 8 states and UTs go to the polls, calling upon the voters to turnout in large numbers and vote. I hope young and women voters exercise their franchise in record numbers. Together, let’s make our democracy more vibrant and participative,” he said in a post on X.

Lok Sabha Election Phase 7 Live: AAP MP Raghav Chadha Votes In Punjab

Voting Begins For Last Phase Of Lok Sabha Elections

Lok Sabha Elections Live: Over Rs 1 Lakh Seized In Odisha

Ahead of the final phase of elections in Odisha, the BJP alleged some Self Help Group (SHG) women members were allegedly distributing money at Mission Shakti Bhavan on the premises of Remuna block in Balasore district on Friday evening. Following the allegation by BJP MLA candidate Govind Charan Das, the flying squad rushed to the spot and conducted a raid and seized an amount of Rs 1,18,000. Three women reportedly fled from the spot after the incident.

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 7 Live: 57 Constituencies To Vote Today

State                                Constituency

Uttar Pradesh                       13

Punjab                                  13

West Bengal                         9

Bihar                                    8

Odisha                                 6

Himachal Pradesh               4

Jharkhand                            3

Chandigarh                          1

Total                                    57

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 6 Live: Key Candidates

PM Narendra Modi                         Varanasi

Anurag Thakur                                Hamirpur

Ravi Shankar Prasad                       Patna Sahib

Kangana Ranaut                              Mandi

Manish Tewari                                Chandigarh 

Vikramaditya Singh                        Mandi

Abhishek Banerjee                          Diamond Harbour

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles